(STILLWATER, Oklahoma / April 17, 2017) - In addition to 70 Oklahoma songwriters previously announced, Jimmy LaFave, Stoney LaRue and John Fullbright will join the sixth annual Bob Childers’ Gypsy Café on April 26, 2017. Jimmy LaFave will be honored with the first Red Dirt Relief Fund Restless Spirit Award in recognition of a musician who has impacted the Oklahoma music community in a spirit akin to Bob Childers. 

LaFave befriended Childers in the late 1970’s while living in Stillwater. Together, in a collective of musicians at the Farm, they developed the genre we now know as “red dirt.” Later, LaFave moved to Austin, taking this new style of music with him, and paved the way for Oklahoma red dirt musicians to flourish in Austin ever since. Red Dirt Relief Fund will give the Restless Spirit award each year at the festival moving forward.

Honoring the legacy of the godfather of Red Dirt, Bob Childers, the festival pairs songwriters to play acoustic sets. The pairings and set times include:

Eskimo Joe’s (outdoor stage ): 4:40pm Don Morris, Katie Williams, Gene Williams, Dan Martin*; 5:35pm Thomas Trapp, Kim Reynolds, Blake Parks, Michael Henneberry, Joe Baxter; 6:30pm Stoney LaRue, Brandon Jenkins, John Cooper; 7:25 Wink Burcham, Jacob Tovar, Ali Harter, Rick Reliey; 8:20pm Jesse Aycock, Lauren Barth, Ben Han, Jake Moffat; 9:15pm Read Southall, Ben McKenzie, Richelle Sigrist, Cale Lester; 10:10p Cody Canada, Jimmy LaFave, John Fullbright; 11pm Restless Spirit Award presentation followed by all-musician finale.

George’s Stables4:30pm Bob Wiles, Sherman Connelly, Deana Hopper*, Brett Franzmann*; 5:25pm Joe Mack, Gene Collier, Zac Wenzel*, T.Z. Wright; 6:20pm Monica Taylor, John Williams, Gib Stones; 7:15pm Aaron Woods, Chance Anderson, Brandon Jackson; 8:10pm Brandon Clark, Matt Mason*, Brad Piccolo; 9:05pm Kaitlin Butts, Jason Boland, Bryon White; 10pm Dustin Pittsley, Kierston White, Scott Carson.

Stonewall Tavern (outdoor stage): 4:20pm Chris Lee Becker, Jim Paul Blair, Sarah Barker Huhn, Cody Brewer; 5:15pm Travis Kidd, Kurt Nielsen, Brad James; 6:10pm Dan Siebert, Sam Valliere*. Larry Spears; 7:05pm Mike McClure, Dylan Stewart, Buffalo Rogers, Craig Skinner; 8:00pm Mike Hosty, KALO, Travis Fite; 8:55pm Paul Bemjaman, Chad Sullins, Bryce Dicus*; 9:50pm Gabe Marshall, Chris Hoffmeier, Scott Evans.

*indicates first appearance in the festival

This night of musical surprises, presented by Reyka Vodka and Sailor Jerry Rum, showcases Oklahoma’s best songwriting talent, culminating with an all-artist finale on the main stage at Eskimo Joe’s. The festival will also include a silent auction and merchant area on Elm St. between West Street and Knoblock Street.

All proceeds benefit the Red Dirt Relief Fund, a non-profit organization that provides a safety net of critical assistance to Oklahoma musicians. Operated by an all-volunteer Board, RDRF has granted over $64,000 to musicians in the state since 2012. Last year’s festival raised $22,000 which funded the majority of aid given in 2016. Twelve musicians performing this year have benefitted from Red Dirt Relief Fund.


Visit www.reddirtrelieffund.org/gypsycafe.  For media inquiries or credentials, please contact Katie Dale at reddirtrelieffund@gmail.com or 918-407-4599. Jimmy LaFave publicity photos available at http://www.jimmylafave.com/.