STILLWATER – Oklahoma State’s Mike Gundy is the 2021 Chuck Neinas Big 12 Coach of the Year, Jaylen Warren is the Offensive Newcomer of the Year, Collin Oliver is the Defensive Freshman of the Year and six Cowboys were represented on the All-Big 12 first team as selected by the league’s coaches, it was announced today.


For Gundy, it’s the second time in his career that he has been voted by his peers as Big 12 Coach of the Year, as he was also the selection in 2010. This year’s honor marks the sixth time an Oklahoma State coach has been recognized as conference Coach of the Year and Gundy joins Matt Campbell, Bob Stoops, Bill Snyder, Mack Brown and Frank Solich as the only repeat winners of the Big 12 Coach of the Year award.


Warren is the ninth Oklahoma State player to earn conference Newcomer of the Year honors and joins a list that includes Gundy (1986), Tyreek Hill (2014) and more. Oliver is the seventh Oklahoma State player to earn conference Freshman of the Year recognition and joins a list that includes Justice Hill (2016), Spencer Sanders (2019) and more.


In a season when the Cowboys finished atop the Big 12 regular season standings, OSU led the league with four first-team All-Big 12 honorees on the defensive side of the ball – Brock Martin, Malcolm Rodriguez, Jarrick Bernard-Converse and Kolby Harvell-Peel. 


Spencer Sanders became just the second first team all-conference quarterback in OSU history. He joins Brandon Weeden, who earned the recognition in 2010. 


For the second consecutive year, Josh Sills earned first team All-Big 12 honors, which puts him in a class with Russell Okung, Levy Adcock and Marcus Keyes as the only Cowboy offensive linemen to earn first team All-Big 12 accolades in more than one season.


OSU’s second team All-Big 12 selections were receiver Tay Martin, return man Brennan Presley, Oliver and cornerback Christian Holmes. 


In total, Oklahoma State had 13 people earn either a Big 12 award or earn a spot on the first or second team all-conference squad. 13 honorees in a single season is the third-most in Cowboy football history, trailing only the 2010 and 2011 seasons. 


2021 First Team All-Big 12


QB – Spencer Sanders, Oklahoma State

RB – Breece Hall, Iowa State

RB – Bijan Robinson, Texas

FB – Jeremiah Hall, Oklahoma  

FB – Jared Rus, Iowa State

WR – Xavier Hutchinson, Iowa State

WR – Quentin Johnston, TCU

WR – Xavier Worthy, Texas

TE – Charlie Kolar, Iowa State

OL – Connor Galvin, Baylor

OL – Trevor Downing, Iowa State

OL – Cooper Beebe, Kansas State

OL – Josh Sills, Oklahoma State

OL – Derek Kerstetter, Texas

PK – Jonathan Garlbay, Texas Tech

KR/PR – Trestan Ebner, Baylor

KR/PR – Malik Knowles, Kansas State



DL – Will McDonald IV, Iowa State

DL – Eyioma Uwazurike, Iowa State

DL – Felix Anudike, Kansas State

DL – Brock Martin, Oklahoma State

DL – Dante Stills, West Virginia

LB – Terrel Bernard, Baylor

LB – Mike Rose, Iowa State

LB – Malcolm Rodriguez, Oklahoma State

DB – Jalen Pitre, Baylor

DB – Russ Yeast, Kansas State

DB – Jarrick Bernard-Converse, Oklahoma State  

DB – Kolby Harvell-Peel, Oklahoma State  

DB – Tre’Vius Hodges-Tomlinson, TCU

P – Michael Turk, Oklahoma

P – Cameron Dicker, Texas


2021 Second Team All-Big 12


QB – Brock Purdy, Iowa State

RB – Abram Smith, Baylor

RB – Deuce Vaughn, Kansas State

FB – Jax Dineen, Kansas State  

WR – Tyquan Thornton, Baylor

WR – Tay Martin, Oklahoma State

WR – Erik Ezukanma, Texas Tech

TE – Chase Allen, Iowa State

OL – Colin Newell, Iowa State

OL – Marquis Hayes, Oklahoma  

OL – Steve Avila, TCU

OL – Dawson Deaton, Texas Tech

OL – Zach Frazier, West Virginia

PK – Gabe Brkic, Oklahoma

KR/PR – Brennan Presley, Oklahoma State  

KR/PR – Derius Davis, TCU



DL – Siaki Ika, Baylor

DL – Kyron Johnson, Kansas  

DL – Isaiah Thomas, Oklahoma

DL – Perrion Winfrey, Oklahoma

DL – Collin Oliver, Oklahoma State

DL – Ochaun Mathis, TCU

LB – Brian Asamoah, Oklahoma  

LB – Nik Bonitto, Oklahoma

LB – Colin Schooler, Texas Tech

DB – Isheem Young, Iowa State

DB – Kenny Logan Jr., Kansas

DB – Delarrin Turner-Yell, Oklahoma

DB – Christian Holmes, Oklahoma State

DB – DaMarcus Fields, Texas Tech

P – Austin McNamara, Texas Tech


Oklahoma State’s Honorable Mention Selections

Tanner Brown (PK), Logan Carter (FB), Braden Cassity (TE), Danny Godlevske (OL), Blaine Green (OFoY), Devin Harper (LB), Tom Hutton (P, STPoY), Tyler Lacy (DL), Brock Martin (DLoY), Malcolm Rodriguez (DPoY), Josh Sills (OLoY), Jason Taylor II (DB), Jaylen Warren (RB), Hunter Woodard (OL)