The 2017 Academic All-Big 12 Cross Country Team was announced on Thursday, and Oklahoma State led all teams and crushed a program record with 30 combined selections.
The 30 all-academic selections shattered the previous program record of 21 in 2006.
In the conference, 28 student-athletes were represented with a 4.0 GPA, and OSU owned a fourth of those with seven.
The Cowboys had two selections with a 4.0 GPA — senior Noah Gade and redshirt-freshman Ryan Smeeton. This is Gade’s second-consecutive first team honor, as he is getting his master’s degree in quantitative financial economics.
The Cowgirls paced all Big 12 women’s teams with 21 selections, including five with a 4.0 GPA. Those five honorees were Ariane Ballner, Stephanie Ferrante, Anna Hurlbut, Sarah Johnson and Michelle Magnani.
Out of OSU’s 30 nominees, 27 were named to the first team, while sophomores Kaytlyn Larson, Kaci McCary and Kaylee Oyler earned second-team accolades.
In this year’s team, there were 166 selections in total, with 67 on the men’s team and 99 on the women’s side.
First-team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.
To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.
Cowboy Honorees
Hassan Abdi (Management)^
Bryce Balenseifen (Secondary Education/Social Studies)^
Sylvester Barus (University Studies/Education)^
Matthew Fayers (Physical Education/Teacher Education)^
Noah Gade (Master’s in Quantitative Financial Economics)*^
Alec Haines (Management)^
Christian Liddell (Economics and Finance)^
Luis Martinez (Entrepreneurship and Marketing)^
Ryan Smeeton (Mechanical Engineering)*^
Cowgirl Honorees
Ariane Ballner (Undeclared)*^
Jennifer Celis (University Studies/Human Sciences)^
Danielle Coleman (Political Science)^
Kaylee Dodd (Strategic Communication)^
Stephanie Ferrante (Biochemistry and Microbiology/Cell & Molecular Biology)*^
Kambri Gabel (Health Education & Promotion/Exercise & Health)^
Haley Geissler (Pre-Veterinary Animal Science)^
Anna Gunter (Accounting)^
Kami Hankins (Health Education & Promotion/Exercise & Health)^
Emily Helms (Nutritional Sciences/Allied Health)^
Anna Hurlbut (Mathematics and Management Sciences & Computer Systems)*^
Sarah Johnson (Finance)*^
Sinclaire Johnson (Economics/Pre-Law)^
Kaytlyn Larson (Marketing and Entrepreneurship)
Michelle Magnani (Health Education & Promotion/Exercise & Health)*^
Kaci McCary (Agricultural Leadership)
Kaylee Oyler (Pre-Veterinary Animal Science)
Molly Sughroue (Strategic Communication)^
Bailey Sutherlin (Mechanical Engineering/Pre-Medical)^
Ambra Wesley (Physiology and Human Nutrition/Pre-Medical Sciences)^
Gintare Zenkeviciute (Management)^
* indicates 4.0 GPA
^ indicates first team honor