(STILLWATER, Oklahoma / February 2, 2019)—Rilee Rigdon led the charge for Oklahoma State at the USATF Junior Cross Country Championships in Tallahassee, Florida, and the Cowboys set season bests at the J.D. Martin Invitational in Norman for the Oklahoma State track and field.

Rigdon finished the women’s 6K in third place, proving herself to be one of the best young cross country runners in the country. She crossed the line with a time of 21:26.8.

Amanda Mayoral finished behind her teammate in 24th and crossed the line in 23:40.4. The two freshman redshirted this past cross country season, but have shown the future is bright for the Cowgirls with their performances in Florida.

Adam Dayani finished 13th in the men’s 8K. He finished the race in 25:15.2. Shayan Zarrin finished 27th with a time of 26:03.2.

The group of freshman got a preview at the course hosting the 2021 NCAA Cross Country Championships with their appearance at the junior section of the championships, which only accepts athletes who have not yet turned 20 years old.

In Norman at the J.D. Martin Invitational, Ayrton Ledesma Fuentes earned the lone OSU victory. He won the mile in 4:18.96.

Mace Metcalf set a new season’s best in the pole vault. He cleared 4.70m/15-5 and finished in a tie for sixth place.

Joshua Anadu set a season-best mark in the long jump. He jumped 6.89m/22-7.25 and finished the event in fourth place.

The track and field squads return to action next Friday and Saturday when they split up and head to four different meets: the Texas Tech Shootout, Don Kirby Invitational, Husky Invitational and the Iowa State Classic.

J.D. Martin Invitational (Norman)

Men’s Results

60 Meters

14. Will Edmonds – 7.28

One Mile

1. Ayrton Ledesma Fuentes – 4:18.96

Long Jump

4. Joshua Anadu – 6.89m/22-7.25

Pole Vault

T6. Mace Metcalf – 4.70m/15-5


Women’s Results

Long Jump

5. Summer Thompson – 4.99m/16-4.5

Pole Vault

5. Elliett Kulkin – 3.55m/11-7.75

9. Elissa White – 3.40m/11-1.75

USATF Junior Cross Country Championships (Tallahassee, Florida)

Men’s 8K

13. Adam Dayani – 25:15.2

27. Shayan Zarrin – 26:03.2


Women’s 6K

3. Rilee Rigdon – 21:26.8

24. Amanda Mayoral – 23:40.4