STILLWATER – Oklahoma State student-athletes from all sports were celebrated and honored as part of the 2023 Cowboy Choice Awards Friday at the McKnight Center.


Started in 2019, the Cowboy Choice Awards have become one of the most anticipated nights on the OSU Athletics calendar because in addition to the awards themselves, the evening is an opportunity for student-athletes to mingle with others from different sports and walk the orange carpet dressed with an eye toward fashion. Each student-athlete has the chance to showcase their individual style, and most do.


The 2023 edition was hosted by Baillie Burmaster, a former Cowgirl soccer standout who is now sports director at Atlanta News First.


Awards are presented based on performances from the 2022-23 academic year, so it came as no surprise that the evening was dominated by the cross country and track and field programs.


The biggest individual awards of the evening went to Cowboy Athlete of the Year Fouad Messaoudi following a 2022-23 campaign that saw him win a pair of NCAA individual titles and run as part of an Oklahoma State DMR team that set an unofficial world record and golfer Maddison Hinson-Tolchard, who was the Cowgirl Athlete of the Year after winning her second Big 12 individual championship and earning first team All-America recognition by the Women’s Golf Coaches Association.


The cross country teams swept team of the year honors after both won Big 12 team titles and placed in the top five at the NCAA Championships, with the men only missing out on winning the national championship by a tiebreak procedure. Dave Smith was honored as OSU’s coach of the year.




2023 Cowboy Choice Award Winners

Cowboy Athlete of the Year

Fouad Messaoudi

Men's Cross Country/Track and Field

Cowgirl Athlete of the Year

Maddison Hinson-Tolchard

Women's Golf

Cowboy Team of the Year

Men's Cross Country

Men's Cross Country

Cowgirl Team of the Year

Women's Cross Country

Women's Cross Country

Cowboy Breakthrough Athlete of the Year

Nolan Schubart


Cowgirl Breakthrough Athlete of the Year

Billah Jepkirui

Women's Cross Country/Track and Field

Cowboy Best Individual Performance

Aidan Meola HR at Big 12s


Cowgirl Best Individual Performance

Terryn Milton buzzer beater at Big 12s

Women's Basketball

Cowboy Biggest Upset of the Year

Basketball over Iowa State

Men's Basketball

Cowgirl Biggest Upset of the Year

Indoor Track and Field wins Big 12

Women's Cross Country/Track and Field

Cowboy Loyal and True Award

Braden Cassity


Cowgirl Loyal and True Award

Summer Chaffin


Coach of the Year

Dave Smith

Cross Country/Track and Field

Volunteer Team of the Year

Spirit Squad

Spirit Squad

T. Boone Pickens Difference Maker Award

Michael and Anne Greenwood