Oklahoma State AD Weiberg appointed to NCAA DI Men’s Basketball Committee, effective Sept. 1

INDIANAPOLIS — Oklahoma State Athletic Director Chad Weiberg has been appointed to the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Committee for a five-year term, effective Sept. 1.

The committee consists of 12 well-respected school and conference administrators who are influential within the world of college basketball. They’re responsible for selecting, seeding and bracketing the field for the annual NCAA Men’s Basketball Championship.

“It’s a great honor to have the opportunity to serve on the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Committee,” Weiberg said. “I’m grateful to Commissioner (Brett) Yormark for the nomination to represent the Big 12 Conference at this dynamic time in college basketball. The NCAA tournament is one of the premier events in all of sports, and I look forward to working with (NCAA Senior Vice President of Basketball) Dan Gavitt, the NCAA staff and every member of the committee to continue that legacy and provide a memorable experience for all involved.”

For the past 30 years, Weiberg has been a fixture within the Big 12 Conference, especially at Oklahoma State, from which he earned a bachelor’s degree in business administration in 1994. He immediately began working in the athletics department, serving as the director of corporate sales and donor relations for five years before moving to the alumni office and working as the school’s senior director of field operations. During that time, he earned his master’s degree. Weiberg then spent a year as director of development for the Oklahoma State Foundation, followed by a year in the same role for the athletics department.

He left Stillwater for Manhattan, Kansas, in 2004, serving one year as the Kansas State Foundation’s director of corporate relations, four years as the athletics department’s director of major gifts, and six years as associate athletics director for development. He was named deputy athletics director at Texas Tech in 2015, spending two years in Lubbock before returning to Oklahoma State. After four years as deputy athletics director, Weiberg was named athletics director in the summer of 2021.

Weiberg is the eighth representative of the Big 12 since the league formed in 1996. The list of past appointees includes his uncle, former league commissioner Kevin Weiberg. It also includes current Iowa State Athletics Director Jamie Pollard, whose term will end Sept. 1, along with the term of current chair and Southwestern Athletic Conference Commissioner Charles McClelland.

Western Athletic Conference Commissioner Brian Thornton was also named to the committee.